Critique on Fashion

I really enjoyed the fashion group’s presentation. First off, everything looked really cohesive and the whole idea flowed very well.  I think the different categories the group used covered a vast amount of the fashion realm without being too overwhelming.  I think the only big aspect I would change would be the order in which the five categories were presented.  I probably would have started with the culture piece and show how many of the other categories and issues stem from the African culture.  The Magazine category which highlighted the black issue of Italian Vogue opened ny eyes more, in terms of anylyzing the idea of sexuality, blackface etc. When I first got the magazine, I definitely thought about the “other” and how having an all black issue is just furthering the “othering” the problem.  There should be no need for an all black issue.  Also, in the collection category I liked how prominent fashion designers were juxtaposed with African designers.  It shows how much african culture influences these high-end fashion designers, but also how stereotypical they can be, meaning, the kinds of prints, patterns and colors they use.  Additionally, several of theAfrican designers do not even use these “African” designs that those designers believe to be african.  Finally, I enjoyed how the project ended with the mainstream aspect of fashion and howAfrican culture is presently influencing western fashion. I’ve seen all of this clothing recently on several of thosewebsites and i’m not quitesure how i feel about it or rather if I would buy it. All in all, I really enjoyed the project. Great job!

Leave a comment